Cool gear for your gadgets – Backpacks, Part 1 (Samsonite Saho Backpack Expand Graphite Laptop Case)

This is the story of my adventure (well, sort of) in sating my eternal search for the perfect backpack for my gadgets and gear. It was the year 2005 when I finally purchased a Notebook Computer of my own. It’s a decent HP Compaq nx6120 (1.3GHz Celeron Processor, 768MB RAM, 40GB HDD, WIFI-ready)

Yes, notebook computers, not Laptops anymore, since you don’t really use your lap when operating it. Some of you would contest it as a tabletops or even desktops, since you commonly use tables for it as you would a desktop. Mobile computers, Notebook or Notebook computers. Those are the new terms. This is not because of Apple saying they don’t sell laptops, but Notebook Computers,” it’s because the term “Notebook computers” IS more appropriate because of the design, which resembles a notebook/book and the fact that is a computer too.

Moving on, as you all may well know, a purchased Notebook Computer includes a carrying case of some sort which highly depends on what brand. Usually the big names comes with a Targus-made shoulder bag with the brand of the Notebook. Surprisingly, some don’t come with ANY bag! Unforgivable! How are you suppose to carry around your new Notebook!?

I’ve lugged the big Targus-HP Bag for a while, savoring the feeling of computing mobility, free WIFI and expensive coffee too. After a while, I’ve felt it was really heavy and strenuous to carry around using the Targus shoulder bag, so I decided to buy a backpack for my notebook computer.

The first bag i bought was a Samsonite. Pure black, with lots of padding. I liked it very much. I first saw this at a gasoline station. Some dude had his mac inside it. It looked very stylish and at the same time gave good protection for your notebook computer from those bumps and drops, especially on a busy street. I got it for around Php3500 ($70).

I was content during the first few months of using this bag. But there were times i needed to bring other stuffs like my DVD Burner and my external HDD. No doubt it would fit, but I’d have to cram everything forcefully that the bag bulged that you could barely close it. I needed something bigger.

And so the search went on… 😀

Leave a Reply

